A bunch of short reviews from the weekend

Sometime last week, I noticed a pop-up ad on my Vita in the PS Store that offered a couple of free games. One of those games was Vlambeer’s Super Crate Box.

I had gotten to know Vlambeer through a recommendation to play Ridiculous Fishing by Max Temkin. My wife and I enjoyed Ridiculous Fishing a lot.

So I downloaded Super Crate Box.

The game is a lot like the original Mario Bros game. You navigate platforms collecting crates that each contain a weapon that you can use to battle enemies that get angrier and faster when they reach the fire pit at the bottom of the screen.

I die a lot playing the game, but just like Spelunky and Hotline Miami before it, the retro styled and throwback concept of Super Crate Box holds my attention and keeps me playing.

I give the freeware title Super Crate Box three and a half stars out of five.

I used to really enjoy Fables, the graphic novel series. Somewhere after they defeated The Adversary, I started to lose interest. When they said they were making an episodic video game set 30 years before the series, it interested me.

When I played a demo of A Wolf Among Us at PAX, to say I was disappointed was an understatement.

Today, I found the game available for download and took a chance on it. It was just as awful as the demo but a bit longer.

The first episode had more Eff words than the entirety of the uncensored version of Season 17 of South Park, which we watched last night. It was unnecessary.

It also has little game play. It felt like playing through a bad Choose Your Own Adventure book where you don’t really have much of a choice.

Telltale Games makes award winning games. I don’t understand why a game with this sort of structure can win awards.

The first episode also ends in a way that contradicts the Fables continuity. My thought is that the culprit is a yet to be revealed Headless Horseman. If that’s the case in the end, the story written is also VERY transparent.

I give A Wolf Among Us 1/2 star out of 5.

Last night we watched Guillermo Del Toro’s giant robot vs giant monster film Pacific Rim. There was a bit too much human drama. The robot vs monster battles were pretty awesome but only accounted for around 1/6 of the film.

There is a mobile game to battle as a monster or robot. I may check it out.

Pacific Rim is a good popcorn movie but a bit too long.

I’d say two and a half stars out of five. A passing grade but barely.

We got to hang out with a friend and see a live performance at Pacifica’s The Surf Spot yesterday as well. The concert setup and food were sub par. The atmosphere on the outdoor patio with its dog path, volleyball court and fire pit was nice but with the expensive and not great food and oddly placed speakers it just wouldn’t seem worth it to go there for a repeat visit.

We might consider visiting to see other bands play the venue but we would bring our own food or eat somewhere else beforehand.

One and a half stars out of five.

Leave a Reply

